Log in

nclca/lsche website

excellence award

Deadline: May 31, 2019

2018 First Place Winner

Missouri Southern State University, Student Success Center | Stephanie Hopkins, Director

2018 Second Place Winner

Rowan College Gloucester County, Academic Support Center

Carol Meglio-Lentz, Administrator

2018 Third Place Winner

Bethel University, Center for Academic Student Achievement

Sarah Sanders, Director


This award is co-sponsored by LSCHE (Learning Support Centers in Higher Education web portal) and NCLCA.  Sites will be judged by a panel that may include a student, a faculty member, current or former learning center administrators, a prior first-place award winner, and a non-learning center web master.

rules & criteria

* The award rubric has been updated. Please carefully review the criteria before completing the nomination form. Rules, criteria, and nomination form are all available on the LSCHE page.

All college and university comprehensive Learning Center web sites are eligible for the awards. Stand alone centers such as Writing, Tutorial, Math, or TRIO learning centers are not eligible for the awards. A gallery of past winners center web sites is available on the LSCHE website

Winners must accept the award at the NCLCA annual conference in person or virtually via phone, Skype, FaceTime, or similar technology.

Note: Some criteria involve CAS Standards and Guidelines for Learning Assistance Programs or W3C guidelines for accessibility.

    submitting your website

    Learning center administrators may submit their site for the award competition by completing the nomination form available on LSCHE and emailing it to Alan Craig.

    Presentation of the awards will take place at the annual NCLCA conference.

    Announcements, updates, and results of the web site contest will be posted to the LRNASST-l listserv and will be archived on the Learning Center in Higher Education web portal: www.lsche.net. Winners will receive an award plaque, a certificate, and the right to place a specially designed award icon on their learning center home page. In addition, a letter will be sent to the award winner's president or other designated senior administrator. Announcement of the award winning sites will also be sent to the learning center for dissemination to campus and local newspapers.


    For a complete list of winners, please visit LSCHE

    2018 Missouri Southern State University Student Success Center, Stephanie Hopkins, Director - mssu.ed/studentsuccesscenter

    2017 (tie) University of Texas at Dallas Student Success Center - utdallas.edu/studentsuccess

    2017 (tie) University of Central Florida Student Academic Resource Center - sarc.sdes.ucf.edu 

    2015 Elftmann Student Success Center, Dunwoody College of Technology

    2014 Learning Assistance Center, University of Cincinnati, Lauren Clark, Program Director

    2013 Academic Success Center, Clemson University, Elaine Richardson, Director

    2012 Panther Academic Support Services, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Johanna Dvorak, Director

    2011 Student Learning Center, University of Oklahoma, Mark Walvoord, Director (Note: Original winning website has been replaced by UC Action and Student Success)

    2010 Student Academic Resource Center, University of Central Florida, Jennifer Wright, Director, and Annie Prince, Website Administrator

    2009 The Academic Link, Stevenson University, Christine Flax, Director

    2008 Center for Academic Success, Clayton State University, Mark Daddona, Director

    2007 No awards given

    2006 Center for Academic Planning and Support, New Hampshire Technical Community College at Stratham & Portsmouth, (Now Great Bay CC) Sarah Bedingfield, Director

    2005 (tie) Learning Center, Pima Community College, West Campus, Penny Turrentine, Director (Note: The various Pima CC campus websites merged after this award.)

    2005 (tie) Instructional Support Services (Now replaced by the college-wide Learning & Tutoring Center website), Georgia Perimeter College, Dunwoody Campus, Alan Craig, Coordinator

    2004 Mary Helen Callarman Center for Academic Excellence, University of Central Florida

    2002-2003 (tie) Learning Center, Pima College, West Campus

    2002-2003 (tie) Center for Academic Planning and Support, New Hampshire Technical Community College

    2001 Academic Support Center, LeMoyne College

    2000 Tutoring and Learning Resources, University of Pennsylvania

      © 2015 NCLCA | Federal Tax # 39-1641695 | W-9

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software