Log in

Learning Center

leadership certification


LCLC (Learning Center Leadership Certification) provides individual learning assistance professionals a nationally-recognized credential and set of standards by which to foster their future growth and development.

This certification provides validation of individuals' expertise in the field of learning assistance through external and objective review. The program is flexible and designed to meet the different career paths and goals of learning assistance professionals. Besides providing a standard of credentialing and continuing professional development, certification can be used by learning center directors and learning assistance professionals as rewards and incentives for better performance appraisals and as part of benchmarking the attainment of staff members in reports to their institutions.

While there are four levels of certification, a first-time applicant can submit materials for certification at any of the four levels. Everyone does NOT have to start at Level One and work their way up. For example, if you can currently satisfy the criteria for Level Four, then please submit an application for Level Four. Additionally, you do not need to be a current member of NCLCA to be considered for certification through LCLC. All qualified professionals are encouraged to apply!

Please Note: Upon receipt, all Learning Center Leadership Certification application materials become the property of NCLCA and will not be returned.

how to apply

Effective November 10, 2014 NCLCA will no longer require or accept hardcopy LCLC application packets. All applicants should submit materials electronically by mailing a USB flash drive (aka jump drive) to the Certifications Officer with the materials organized by category in a separate file and all of the files saved in one folder.

The folder and files should be named in the following format:

  • Level 2 Humphrey E 111514 for the folder (111514 is for month day year of submission)

And then for each file contained therein: 

  • Humphrey E Tab A, Humphrey E Tab B, etc.

Be sure that there is only one folder (the one containing all application materials) and then within the folder the materials for each tab are individual files (Word, PDF, etc.). Do not have folders within the first folder. Please follow this update and email any questions to Dr. Jacqueline Harris

Mailing Address:

Dr. Jacqueline Harris
5301 N. Sollars Drive
Muncie, IN 47304

pricing & payment

The Learning Center Leadership Certification fee structure changed as of January 1, 2011 to the following for all applicants regardless of membership status:

  • Level 1 - $50 (initial or renewal)

  • Level 2 - $75 (initial or renewal)

  • Level 3 - $100 (initial or renewal)

  • Level 4 - $250 (initial--no renewal needed)

  © 2015 NCLCA | Federal Tax # 39-1641695 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software