Log in


Deadline: Applications are closed for 2021

Membership to NCLCA is required prior to nominating or applying for an award or grant. An affiliate member must also become a member of NCLCA in order to be eligible for awards and grants.

Not Awarded in 2020 or 2021

Keni Zenner

2019 Karen Quinn Institute Scholarship

Coordinator, Academic Assistance, Office of Academic Success, University of Minnesota Morris


Dr. Karen Quinn served as the 1992-93 NCLCA President (then Midwest College Learning Center Association).

Before her untimely death from cancer, she had been a very active leader. She was the driving force behind developing our professional journal, The Learning Assistance Review during her term. A scholar herself, she served as the first co-editor with Dr. Martha Casazza. 

Karen was the director of the Center for Academic Excellence at the University of Illinois-Chicago. Karen participated as a mentor and presenter at the 1993 and 1995 NCLCA Summer Institute at Loyola, Chicago. She was a mentor for the Reading/Writing to Learn component. Karen presented us with large notebook of journal articles on improving learning assistance in writing and reading, her areas of expertise. Her presentation was insightful and extremely helpful.

The NCLCA Summer Institute was changed in 2008 to the NCLCA Institute. NCLCA is honored to name the Karen Quinn Institute Scholarship in Dr. Quinn’s memory.

scholarship description

Are you in your first two years as a learning center professional? Here is an opportunity for you to attend the annual NCLCA Institute with a registration scholarship. The Karen Quinn NCLCA Institute Scholarship will be awarded the spring prior to the Institute. 

The NCLCA Institute gives you an opportunity to receive professional development in greater depth. Outstanding presenters and mentors will help you with various aspects of learning center management from tutoring to technology.

The Karen Quinn Scholarship will be presented annually to one member of NCLCA in order to develop his/her professional skills in a college learning center. Primarily, recipients of this scholarship will be first- or second-year professionals who demonstrate a desire to grow in the profession and who may not be able to participate otherwise.


In addition, the recipient will be invited to speak briefly to the NCLCA members at the annual conference about the experience.

The NCLCA scholarship will not provide for lodging or transportation to the NCLCA Institute.

Nominations must meet the deadlines and general criteria listed below.


All members are welcome to apply for awards and grants. Preference will be given to those who have not won the award in the last 2 years.

Membership to NCLCA is required prior to nominating or applying for an award or grant. An affiliate member must also become a member of NCLCA in order to be eligible for awards and grants.


  • Nominees should be a full-time employee in a learning center.
  • Nominees must have a current membership to NCLCA.
  • Preference will be given to members in their first two years of employment in a learning center environment


The application will consist of:

  • An application letter, not to exceed three pages, sent by the nominee or someone professionally associated with the nominee
  • A letter by the nominee’s supervisor explaining a rationale for the nominee’s financial need for the award
  • The nominee’s resume
  • The nominee's job description

Submit all application materials below


2018 Madison Ackerman, SUNY Niagra County Community College

2017 Jami S. Rush, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

2016 Justin Boone, Georgia Institute of Technology

2015 Joshua Mitchell, Iowa State University

2014 Jada Mitchell, Clayton State University

2013 Nicholas Hyer, Virginia Tech

2012 Sara Provis, Loyola University

2011 Michelle Wolf, Winthrop University

2010 Leslie Hargrove, Pima Community College

2009 Wendy Simmerman, Utah Valley University

2008 Peggy Mitchell, Wilmington University

2007 Elizabeth Boretz, University of California Merced

2005 Janice Smith, Penn State Harrisburg

  © 2021 NCLCA | Federal Tax # 39-1641695 | W-9

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software