Log in

hunter boylan research scholarship

Deadline: APRIL 30, 2020

2018 Hunter Boylan Research Scholarship

Justine Chasmar & Benjamin Smith | "Application of Quantitative Reasoning in Learning Assistance"


Hunter Boylan is the long-time Director of the National Center for Developmental Education and Professor of Higher Education at Appalachian State University. His extensive experience in the field of learning assistance and developmental education has included serving as a tutorial coordinator, TRIO Program coordinator, and learning center director. He was President of NADE in 1981 and 1982, and he also served as the Chair of the American Council of Developmental Education Associations for several years. He directs the annual Kellogg Institute each summer. Hunter Boylan has often presented and spoken at NCLCA and was the keynote speaker at the 2011 NCLCA Conference in Indianapolis.


The Hunter Boylan Research Scholarship is awarded to recognize completed research related to how Learning Centers contribute to student academic success as well as persistence.


All members are welcome to apply for awards and grants. Preference will be given to those who have not won the award in the last 2 years.

Membership to NCLCA is required prior to nominating or applying for an award or grant. An affiliate member must also become a member of NCLCA in order to be eligible for awards and grants.

research project

Applicants must provide a minimum of a one-page summary on the presentation topic and how it relates to learning centers as well as student success or persistence. The summary should include a brief synopsis of the completed research conducted, its outcome, how the research is useful or how the results can have an impact on colleges or universities.

Each year, one scholarship award winner will receive $1,000 for research and travel expenses, one waived conference registration, and a guaranteed presentation slot.


    Please submit the following application materials (formatted in MS Word) via the online submission form below.

    • A one-page cover sheet with your name, address, institution, e-mail, phone number, and title of your proposal.
    • A summary on the presentation topic (minimum of one page), excluding any identifying information as your proposal will undergo blind review.
    • A copy of your curriculum vitae or resume, which should include any previous research projects, conference presentations, and/or publications.
    • A letter of endorsement from your Dean, V.P., Chair or related administrator.

    Submit all application materials to Awards@NCLCA.org

    Note: Winners must accept the award at the NCLCA annual conference in person or virtually via phone, Skype, FaceTime, or similar technology.

      If you have any questions, please contact Awards@NCLCA.org


      2018 Justine Chasmar & Benjamin Smith

      2017 The Universities at Shady Grove, University system of Maryland

      2015 Kevin Berkopes, Indianapolis University Purdue University Indianapolis

      2014 David Ortiz, University of the Incarnate Word

      2013 Jack Trammell, Randolph-Macon College
      2012 Jack Trammell, Randolph-Macon College

        © 2015 NCLCA | Federal Tax # 39-1641695 | W-9

      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software