Log in

julia visor award 

Deadline: APRIL 30, 2020

2018 Julia Visor Award Winner

Emmy Dixon

University of North Georgia-Gainesville

2018 Julia Visor Award Winner

Rex Mann

University of Louisville, REACH


Dr. Julia Visor was Assistant Professor of English and the Coordinator of the University Center for Learning Assistance at Illinois State University. Julia touched the lives of many people in her roles as teacher, administrator, certified supplemental instruction trainer, author, presenter and mentor. Julia was a long-time member of NCLCA who is missed deeply.

Dr. Julia Visor lost her battle with cancer in January of 2002.  It was definitely one  of the few battles Dr. Visor ever lost. 

Dr. Visor was a firm proponent of opportunity for all: Julia saw herself as an educator who encouraged students to be proactive agents and strong advocates of their own learning.  She was a very strong force in many lives as well as an advocate for diversity. She was a beacon for learning and striving to achieve. In addition, her joyous smile and caring will be deeply missed by all who knew her.

Julia Visor received her Bachelor’s degree in English from Illinois State University in 1971, her Master’s degree from Ohio University in 1975, and her Doctor of Arts degree from Illinois State University in 1987.  She joined the English department faculty that year, and in 1997 she became the Coordinator of the University Center for Learning Assistance.   She taught courses in composition and rhetoric and in African American literature, and she served as a mentor and advisor for many graduate students working in those areas.  In 1996 she was recognized with the David A. Strand Award for Diversity Achievement.


Two $500 awards are available. The award is intended to encourage graduate student participation by helping to cover travel related expenses. All full-time or part-time graduate students who present at the NCLCA annual conferences are eligible for this award. No application is necessary other than submitting the annual conference proposal, indicating graduate student status on the cover sheet of the proposal, and registering as a graduate student at the conference.

Two $500 awards are available. The award is intended to encourage graduate student participation by helping to cover travel related expenses. In the event that there are less than two exclusively graduate student proposals, additional awards will be given to students at the discretion of the professional development chair and NCLCA board. 


All members are welcome to apply for awards and grants. Preference will be given to those who have not won the award in the last 2 years.

Membership to NCLCA is required prior to nominating or applying for an award or grant. An affiliate member must also become a member of NCLCA in order to be eligible for awards and grants.


2018 Emmy Dixon, University of North Georgia-Gainesville &  Rex Mann, University of Louisville, REACH
2017 Megan Krou & Justin Massey
2016 Lucille Lu, Rutgars University & Monique Negron, University of Connecticut

2013 Miriam Thompson, University of Arizona
2011 Christopher Lackey, Illinois State University
2010 Marlena Reese
2010 Christine Blaney
2009 Debra Wiley, University of Cincinnati
2009 Candice Kaup-Scioscia, Berkley College
2008 Charles "Chuckie" Campbell & Sam Meyer, Eastern Kentucky University
2007 Polina Chemishanova, New Mexico State University
2006 George Waddups, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
2005 Tacy Holliday, Montgomery Community College
2005 Steven Yackel, Bethel University
2003 Courtney Sturgeon, Ball State University
2003 Paullett Golden, Texas A&M

  © 2015 NCLCA | Federal Tax # 39-1641695 | W-9

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software